Fat Kid Suit

Shocker: I’ve lost 19 pounds since Valentine’s Day by avoiding Industrial Food!

12 Comments


I want to share where I am at with my efforts to walk away from Industrial food.

An Inner Debate

On Feb 9 I listened in as Daniel Vitalis and David Wolfe participated in Kevin Gianni’s “Great Health Debate.”  Click to read my review of the event and see why it immediately motivated me to make some serious changes in my life.

That was only 3 1/2 weeks ago–just before Valentines Day.  Since then I have honored my commitment to avoid meat, dairy, GMOs, processed foods, refined sugar, coffee, and I’ve eliminated all gluten from my diet.  The result?

I Break the News

I FEEL GREAT and I HAVE LOST 19 LBS in just 25 DAYS!

I wasn’t expecting these kind of results.  When I went to weigh myself today I thought the scale would tell me I had  lost around 10-12 LBS.   The reason I am surprised is because I have been unable to exercise due to injury.

100% Raw VS My New Approach

This level of weight loss is almost identical to the results I had when I did my 100% raw food challenge.  Even the starting and ending weights are within a few pounds! Here you can see full body Before & After pics taken during my first 30 days raw. However, this time around I am only eating about 1/3  of my calories in raw form (uncooked fruits n’ veggies).

Cooked Carbs

I was concerned that my increased intake of cooked carbohydrate like potatoes, carrots, beans, brown rice pasta, and organic corn tortillas; might even result in weight gain.  When I did 100% raw I gave up ALL alcohol.  The past 3 1/2 weeks I have enjoyed red wine and even cocktails made with only fresh ingredients.

Fat Phobia

The other difference between how I eat now VS when I ate only raw food for 60 days–is my fat intake. While I have not been fat phobic in any way, I am eating way less fat than when I did 100% raw and was eating a ton of nuts, nut creams, nut butters, and 1-2 avocados a day. I don’t include nuts in my diet every day now.  I eat a half an avocado every other day or so.  I cook sparingly with olive oil and try to instead use it in it’s uncooked form in salads or pesto. I do eat a few eggs each week.

So What Exactly DO I Eat Now?

If you are curious to read more about what I HAVE been eating, and even see some pics, check out my daily food log called What I Ate Today.

The only current “Before & After” pics I have kinda suck, but I will include them here because I think you can see a dramatic difference in my fat face.  My apologies, the first pic is creepy.

 

Scary Valentine photo taken Feb 12 256 LBS

Same hat, looking a little more Grapes Of Wrath, less than 3 weeks later, Mar 7--237 LBS

Author: Gray

Son of a traveling salesman who infected me early with gypsy wanderlust and the urge to move somewhere new every couple years to try on new identities. All my fantasies are escapist and in them I am free to never have to call anyplace home.

12 thoughts on “Shocker: I’ve lost 19 pounds since Valentine’s Day by avoiding Industrial Food!

  1. Impressive – I’m still avoiding the scale, and I chickened out with doing before & after shots…still, though, that’s a truly impressive turnaround. Nicely done – and, more importantly, glad to hear that you’re feeling great.

  2. Congratulations! 🙂

    I don’t see a big difference in the 2 shots, but the before shot does look puffier. The after shot looks scruffier. 🙂

    I’m trying to get most of the processed food out of my diet. It’s hard to do when you cook 2 completely different dinners (1 for self and 1 for husband). I wonder if my weight would change if I ate near 100% unprocessed. Right now I eat a lot of whole wheat bread and pasta. (I think those things are technically “processed.”) I’ve weighed in as “underweight” all my life, according to the standard charts, but don’t see that as an issue.

    • more candid shots will be shared at the very very end of my weight loss, etc. and not one moment prior… 😉

      try sometimes substituting the pasta with quinoa. i love it tossed with fresh pesto made from walnuts, basil, garlic, olive oil, nutritional yeast (instead of Parmesan), and some olives thrown in if you have them.

      its also great with lentils and veggies, or even marinara. but it is made for pesto–trust me.

      • Tried the quinoa / pesto recommendation . . Saw red, white, and black quinoa so bought all 3 and mixed them. Made the pesto and accidentally put in pecans instead of walnuts, but it’s GREAT! Also added chopped green onions at the end. 😛 TY for the recipe.

      • i love that mixed quinoa, hard to find here. pesto is the besto, and using various nuts just adds to the exp.

        walnuts with a little fresh cilantro added in with the other ingredients rocks.

        soak some raw cashews,drain and the use them as the nut if you want a damn creamy pesto with zero dairy.

        and sometimes i also put in sun dried tomatoes.

        it’s all good

  3. SUPER IMPRESSED!!! That is an amazing transformation in a very short period of time. I imagine your knees feel better when you’re walking around, your acid reflux has all but vanished, and ALL your clothes fit! What is your goal, by the way? Do you have a numerical goal or a clothing size goal or just a “I don’t want to feel like hell anymore” goal? Please keep sharing:)

    • My goal is to feel streamlined and swift and strong. For me, anything under 210 and I look good, but under 200 is best. It is also what you mentioned to me before RE aging…being thinner doesn’t necessarily mean healthy–although NOT being heavy matters a lot RE health–but when I eat right I feel and look much younger.

      When I was 100% raw people were in shock when I said I was mid thirties, they assumed 26 ish, but that could have to do with my lack of maturity in other areas…

      • Where have you been? I feel like hell and am fat again so I just re-read all your 60-day stuff and I want more. Please, inspire the masses again. We need you, damnit.

      • Right now I’m in Mexico getting drunk and fat…but when I get back I’m gonna donate half my body to science which should put me at my gooooooaaaalll weight.

Leave a Reply

