Fat Kid Suit

90 day Natural Fitness Challenge: Day 16 Why I’m going back to 100% raw food

2 Comments


Life is an experiment.  That’s how I’ve seen it at least since about age twelve.

And in this oxygenated test tube where trial and error sometimes scintillates and sometimes stings, the only rule is to keep testing…

Many of us enjoy the dance that comes with testing other people.  Sometimes by pushing buttons and outright manipulation, other times via that heavenly connection with another that makes us more aware of ourselves by finding where our edges are; and ultimately aren’t.

But the deepest experiments are those where we are the subject and the observer.  If you look at my recent foray into raw foods as an experiment, then you’d also have to see the years of near abuse with food & drink that brought me to that jumping off point as a kind of experiment too…

And now a new level of experimentation has begun for me.  Now I notice nuance in relation to my body-mind.  Whereas before I simply slumbered, drugged by white processed flours and grain alcohol, now I can literally feel the difference between just OK and fucking fantastic.

While completing my 60 day raw challenge I rarely exercised.  It was enough to take on that new way of eating.  Even without exercise I lost 37 lbs in 8 weeks…

After completing that challenge I committed to a new one–90 straight days of exercise.  For over two weeks  now I’ve been pushing myself and intensely exercising every day.  I still eat very clean (raw until dinner and then cooked vegetarian meals for dinner) and I have lost exactly zero pounds.

Now, I have noticed increased musculature in my chest, shoulders, and legs…so most likely I’ve lost fat which has been replaced by new lean mass…but I don’t feel lighter.  While I’ve still been careful about what I eat, adding “healthy” cooked foods into my life again has left me feeling soft and lackluster.

I miss the clean and almost endless energy that came with all raw…and I miss how succulent and hydrating that way of eating was.

So, I’ve decided to spend at least the rest of January back on a 100% raw diet.  More experimentation and more data to crunch…

The main thing I’m curious to see is how I will feel eating 100% raw again, but this time coupled with daily intense exercise?  Only time will tell.

Author: Gray

Son of a traveling salesman who infected me early with gypsy wanderlust and the urge to move somewhere new every couple years to try on new identities. All my fantasies are escapist and in them I am free to never have to call anyplace home.

2 thoughts on “90 day Natural Fitness Challenge: Day 16 Why I’m going back to 100% raw food

  1. Okay, it’s been a week since your last post. Where are you? 🙂 I hope things are going well for you.

    • LOL! Thanks Annie. I am working and up til today have been hunkering down under rare rain and sleet here in usually sunny Palm Springs…

      Haven’t felt like blogging, I’m a wimp when it comes to gray skies shutting down my mental clarity 😉

      I have two new topics I’m dying to blog about and I will do so shortly! But today the weather broke and it is SO crystal clear–with snow all over the mountains surrounding the desert floor–so I’m going hiking!!!

      -Cheers! And thanks for checking in on me 🙂

Leave a Reply

