Fat Kid Suit

90 day Natural Fitness Challenge: days 9 & 10 This is hard sometimes!

3 Comments


So I’m 10 days into my 90 straight days of exercise and it’s been pretty damn hard the last couple days to stay motivated…

WORK


I realized today that like most people my work is physically draining and exhausting and feels like…yup…EXERCISE!

But you know what?  It ISN’T!  It’s just physically demanding and sometimes horrible and a physical & mental drain.  But is IS NOT in anyway shape or form exercise.

So when I get home “I’m beat” and hungry and I feel like I did more than my fair share of physical activity for the day…sound familiar?

And if someone eats poorly work is even worse and more of a drain/stress load on you…but that only means we need real genuine sustained exercise even MORE!

HABIT


That’s why it has to become habit–it has to just be the way you live your life.  Several people have said they don’t like the idea of having to do exercise every single day-that we all deserve at least one day a week to do absolutely nothing.  I get that.

But…most of the people reading this blog and thinking about challenging themselves physically and making dietary changes need to completely OVERHAUL this aspect of their life.

That’s why even on my “rest day”, which we definitely need to allow our muscles to repair and to not overstress our immune systems; I still get out and do something physical. A casual bike ride, a long walk through the neighborhood…I want my mind and body to understand that this is who I am now..an active person.  Do I seriously need a day every week where I don’t move at all?  Am I convalescing?

TWO INVENTIVE DAYS

Yesterday I had to go on a midnight 45 minute balls-out bike ride in the pitch dark after I got out off from the bar in order to fit in my days exercise.  It was a blast!  I forgot how much I miss mountain biking and the thrill of making perfectly timed gear shifts and rapid decisions about where to point my bike!  With only a thin stream of light shining off my little handlebar light it was a crazy and swervy ride through the night that I gaspingly enjoyed and want to do again soon!

Today was my “rest” day and I took a long walk through a neighborhood I hadn’t explored on the south end of Palm Springs.  The Jetson inspired architecture was bitchin and the day was beyond spectacular–72 degrees and a clarity that just POPPED!

Each day I am attending film screenings for the film festival and I realized a couple things…

  1. It’s way more time-consuming than I originally thought!
  2. There are SO MANY movies!
  3. People love to beat people’s brains in in movies–like EVERY movie I’ve seen.

So the festival is taking up my time for one more week and it’s very difficult to fit in exercise and blogging but I wanted you all to know that no matter what I’m doing this!  If you have joined me in the challenge (or your thinking about it) please know that I am there every step of the way with you and will soon be back with more detailed posts!

Cheers!

-Ken

Author: Gray

Son of a traveling salesman who infected me early with gypsy wanderlust and the urge to move somewhere new every couple years to try on new identities. All my fantasies are escapist and in them I am free to never have to call anyplace home.

3 thoughts on “90 day Natural Fitness Challenge: days 9 & 10 This is hard sometimes!

  1. A+ for your persistance!(and for maintaining your posts!) It’s why many people give up, but we’ll always have events and things that get in our way- it’s called LIFE. You’re doing awesome 😀

  2. Pingback: Amir From CollegeHumor Fails Gallon Challenge | Miscellaneous Videos

Leave a Reply

