Fat Kid Suit

60 day raw food log: day 22 lost three more pounds this week

Leave a comment


Hard to believe I’ve already completed three weeks eating 100% raw foods!  It’s been an amusing ride and so far (as cliche as it sounds) I’m learning a lot.

I lost three more pounds this week!  That’s a total of sixteen pounds in only three weeks which brings my weight down from 254 lbs. to today’s weight of 238 lbs.

What’s surprising me this time around eating raw is how unappealing I’m finding all set packaged ways of life…including the raw foods “lifestyle.”  It’s not making much sense to me that one would undertake a mind-expanding journey like eating only raw foods and pop out the other side of the rabbit hole a mirror image of everyone else who took the ride.

Growing up in a world limited by religious dogma and small thinking I see hints of the same in extreme food ideologies. Like religion; a lot of the food “isms” rely on absolutes, require total rule adherence from “followers,” incite intolerance toward those who disagree, and inspire adoption of a uniform for quick & easy identification.

At this point in my life, I don’t feel qualified to identify right from wrong, especially for someone else.  I’m not “shopping” for a group to belong to, and I don’t want to only be around people who think and eat exactly as I do.

We each get only one or perhaps several lives.  Mine will probably include beer, pizza, and dare I say it? Meat.  For now I’ll keep plugging along with my 60 days raw experience and enjoy it.

I don’t want to go back to the way I was eating three weeks ago.  That was the opposite extreme and was damaging my health and self-image.  Eating a diet high in raw foods is important to me now.  I encourage others to give it a fair shake, but I’m not going to knock on your door Saturday morning telling you that if you don’t, you’re gong to burn on the self same BBQ that your steaks are sizzling on.

I hope this blog quickly evolves into a collaboration where readers feel free to explore and contribute.  If all of us are inspired to make small changes which increase our energy, improve our health, and benefit the planet; it will have a far greater impact than one or two zealots fasting in a mountain cave.

Please continue to weigh in with your thoughts, share your struggles, reveal your misgivings, tout your triumphs, and inspire us with your successes.

So day 22 is a day of questions for me, not answers.  Perhaps the universe is a question mark and not an exclamation point?

What I ate today:

After a long morning hike up a sun-bathed rock-face I was craving:

  • A chocolate coconut shake! (Coconut oil, shredded coconut, cacao nibs, cacao powder, honey, hemp seeds, hemp oil, 1/2 a banana.  Awesome!
  • Tangerines
  • 1/2 an avocado and some salty sun-dried olives
  • Asian slaw: red cabbage, pistachio hemp tahini, hemp oil, apple, carrots, scallion, tamari
  • Lara Bar–peanut butter cookie flavor

Sitting on my counter is a big juicy pineapple that I can’t wait to eat tomorrow morning!!!

Author: Gray

Son of a traveling salesman who infected me early with gypsy wanderlust and the urge to move somewhere new every couple years to try on new identities. All my fantasies are escapist and in them I am free to never have to call anyplace home.

Leave a Reply

