Fat Kid Suit

60 days raw food log: day 13 Do I Have To Be a Hippy To Eat Raw?

Leave a comment


Writing poolside from beautiful Palm Springs where the weather is 84 degrees and perfection.poolside compressed

What I don’t want to happen here with this whole raw thing is to have it turn into some defining uniform I put on a parade around in (I thought of that one because I live a few blocks from downtown Palm Springs and it’s PRIDE weekend here and I can here all the fun being had and I saw some cool costumes and costumes are cool when they are for parties but not when you put them on in lieu of being an actual person).

Here’s what I mean.  You go to Orange County (CA not NJ) and there are all these 40 & 50 something guys putting on their costume for the weekend…Harley Davidson Biker guy…Country Club debonair guy…Surfer guy…and then Monday comes and they take off the bandannas and swagger and put on the suit and haggle over buy outs and dividends. Fine for them.  But that’s NOT what I want.

Why does modern life have to be a glorified version of high school bullshit? Which leads me square back to the raw foods “lifestyle.”  If someone benefits from and starts to get off on eating more or all raw, do they have to start rubbing crystals under their armpits and dress like they are a TV Kung Fu master but whose Gi  is made from hemp?

The thing I like most about raw foods is how crystallized my thinking gets.  How utterly aware of who I am at THAT MOMENT and gobsmacked by the fact that I am this ever changing furnace walking and working and living with other ever changing furnaces.  So the last thing I want is to just shuck one bullshit “identity”, which is actually just a culturally pigeon-holed “type”,  for another. Shouldn’t the higher level of awareness that comes from eating raw foods produce very unique individuals, and not just fill the world with more types?

Now I am painfully aware that writing that sounds like I am being judgmental while I am essentially writing about not judging people.  But that’s how thought is provoked, and interchange.  I’d truly like to hear your thoughts.

Tomorrow I’m going to write about something perhaps even more controversial for the raw set…stay tuned.  But for now I have to go be a drug dealer (bartender).

What I ate today:

  • Watermelon juice
  • Strawberry-Banana-Mango-Honey Smoothie
  • Dried bananas & cacao
  • Cabbage salad with carrots, apples, spinach & hemp honey mustard dressing.
Author: Gray

Son of a traveling salesman who infected me early with gypsy wanderlust and the urge to move somewhere new every couple years to try on new identities. All my fantasies are escapist and in them I am free to never have to call anyplace home.

Leave a Reply

