Fat Kid Suit

60 days raw food log: Day 11 is a day full of cravings

5 Comments


Day 11

Yesterday sailed by, easy breezy. Wind in my sails like Captain Jack Sparrow.

Today…not so easy & nothing breezy about it.  I am craving  &%^$#  EVERYTHING! Here’s a partial list:

  • Grilled ham & cheese sandwich from Olympic Diner in SF. The waitress would get pissed when I asked if they could throw a fried egg on it, I’d say “pretty please” and she’d bring it out w/ a smile and EXTRA home fries!grill ham egg cheese
  • ANY flavor of piping hot ooey gooey mozzarella topped perfection from Rocco’s Pizzeria in Walnut Creek. My creation usually was pancetta, sun-dried tomatoes, pesto, and feta…but sometimes I’d go for traditional red sauce w/ ground beef, garlic, and green peppers.roccos
  • A heaping plate of CARNITAS from my favorite authentic Mexican restaurant, Las Montanas in Concord.  Somehow their food isn’t “wet” like most mex places.  It floods your mouth with flavor, but as an example the rice is fluffy and dry and perfect.  The staff is the best I’ve ever encountered.  The drinks always sucked so i stuck with ice cold LAGUNITAS IPA from the tap.
  • My own cooking, esp slow cooked homemade spicy tomato sauce w/ pasta…
  • A perfect loaf of ciabatta from the BROOKLYN BREAD COMPANY in Carroll Gardens and salted butter!BK bread
  • The #3 I think it was at the Thai restaurant my boss used to take me to on 23rd street in Chelsea when I worked in Manhattan.  Even when I asked for “not so spicy” I’d cry through every meal and savor every morsel.  I REALLY MISS NYC on many levels.
  • Sweet & Tangy pulled pork BBQ  or Tri-Tip sandwich from Firestone Grille in my original hometown of San Luis Obispo CA. firestoneTheir fries are the bomb, the patio is the place to be seen, and all kinds of micro brewskies. While in SLO why not hit up the Thurs night Farmer’s Market and stand in the ridiculous long line for McKlintocks beef ribs, camp beans, garlic bread & real lemonade… And one more spot in SLO you can’t skip is High Street Deli on, yup, High Street.  San Luis Sourdough piled with whatever you want in between…   High Street
  • Chilaquiles w/ chorizo & sour cream at the King’s Highway, the cool new diner at the chic new Ace Hotel in Palm Springs where a friend recently saw Drew Barrymore and company eating.  Wash it down with their house ale that’s only $3 a pint in an otherwise pricey enviro. Go on a Wed night & bring your swimsuit, grab a Tanqueray and Lime at the bar & go join the DJ’d pool party.ace
  • Chili Fries with a mountain of melted cheddar! But the chili has got to be SPICY like Cool Cats in SLO!chili_fries

Ok, sorry to put you through that if you came to this blog looking for encouragement with your raw endeavors.  But, this is part of it, right?  I’m trying to keep it real and not sugarcoat my experience going raw.

I’m NOT going to eat anything like that today!  And no cold beer! Raw food eating is worth it. I feel good and already look a lot better.  In about a week I’ll post the first before & after pics of my journey into better health. Each Tuesday I will also weigh myself.  My first week I lost 7lbs. So I’m curious to see what week two’s weight loss is.

I feel kinda bad (not really) for posting all those cooked food pics on a raw food blog–don’t judge. So to try and offset the greasy pics above I want to post the best looking raw food pic I have seen this week. They are “Red Pepper Poppers” and that is EGGPLANT BACON! I can’t wait to make them!  The recipe is at
http://www.rawmazing.com/recipes/red-pepper-poppers/

red pepper poppers eggplant bacon

What I ate so far today:

  • Watermelon Juice (I just found out it’s an APHRODISIAC! I don’t think chili fries make you a better lover..)
  • Pear
  • Blueberry Banana Smoothie w/ honey & green powder
  • Salad: Leftover homemade pesto, spinach, olives, rawmesan
  • Apple
  • Vanilla-maca-date-banana-shake

***PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT ABOUT WHAT YOU CRAVE AND WHAT PERCENTAGE OF YOUR DIET IS RAW! THANKS! I’m really curious to here from others about this.

Author: Gray

Son of a traveling salesman who infected me early with gypsy wanderlust and the urge to move somewhere new every couple years to try on new identities. All my fantasies are escapist and in them I am free to never have to call anyplace home.

5 thoughts on “60 days raw food log: Day 11 is a day full of cravings

  1. I am in the process of trying to transcend food, but those pictures look SO GOOD.

    I am probably 50% raw, but 100% gluten free and vegetarian.

    I would like 2 tacos and one cheese enchilada at Las Montanas, the number 1!!

    I would also like a fried egg and cheese sandwich, but I’ll take mine on a bagel. With that I’ll have some sweet pancakes from Scaramouche.

    After that I’ll take a meatball sandwich, or some swedish meatballs, or butternut squash ravioli.

  2. with the crispy sage leaves.

  3. Great info…thanks ! where did u get all this stuff ?

    • Thanks! Well I’ve eaten at most of these places…sadly & happily. Also, growing up in a fat family I have either tried or watch someone try every “diet” imaginable. That’s my fav thing about raw foods, it really isn’t a diet, it’s a completely difft way of approaching food and getting to the bottom of anything that ails you.

      Thanks so much for your comment!

  4. Pingback: 60 day raw food log: day 17 Weighing the cost of a raw food diet…is it worth it? (Part 2) « Live Nude Food

Leave a Reply

