Fat Kid Suit

60 Days Raw Log: Only day 6 but feels like a year

Leave a comment


Day 6

Alright, so it’s been tough sticking to this thing called raw.  When I was in SF at least I was in good company with all the hippies.  Here in Palm Springs the few people I’ve told that I’m trying to eat at least one month “raw” look at me like I’m wacked.

Tonight at work my stomach was growling while everyone else was chowing down on pizzas oozing with mozzarella and the other bartender had the cooks make her a quesadilla loaded with spicy chorizo.  “Want a piece?”  I thought I was going to die.

But I was good tonight (which btw, that kinda thinking screws with your head, because what am I, a monk?) and came home and made an extra heavy-dense-cabbage salad with loads of almond butter and a whole avocado.

At this point I don’t feel like I could do this 100% of the time for very long. It alienates you socially and so far, while I do feel a lot better, its just not that fun.  I keep imagining that I will reach a point where I eat mostly raw but enjoy a few healthy cooked dinners each week.  Who knows?  I’m going to reserve judgment for now and just ride this wave out.

What I ate today:

  • Spirulina smoothie with almond butter, maca powder, cacao nibs, honey, coconut oil
  • Figs
  • Giant cabbage salad with avocado, almond butter, tamari, olive oil, carrots, onion (very creamy!)
  • Blackberries

Notes:  I didn’t have fruit juice today and I felt the difference.  Not as hydrated and not as “light” feeling.  I noticed today for the first time that I started feeling at one with my bicycle again–my ride to and from work felt amazing and I think very soon I will be out riding for fun.

Author: Gray

Son of a traveling salesman who infected me early with gypsy wanderlust and the urge to move somewhere new every couple years to try on new identities. All my fantasies are escapist and in them I am free to never have to call anyplace home.

Leave a Reply

