Fat Kid Suit

60 Days Raw Log: On day 2 I’m painfully sober at the library

Leave a comment


Day 2

Woke up with a crap headache, disoriented, and sore all over.  Now to be fair, I wake up feeling that way a few times a week after drinking too much the night before.  Today I woke up feeling that way from not drinking…I guess that’s better?  The only problem is my head never stopped pounding all day.

Wednesday is “library day.”  My girlfriend is a nerd and this is her favorite day.  We get our laptops and books together and spend hours at the Rancho Mirage Public Library, which is a neat modern well funded library set in a cool desert scape.

I lost my cool a couple times today.  Our neighbors are roofing and the noise & stink from the tar machine is maddening.  Also, the roofing crew starts earlier & earlier each morning, today they were banging around before 7am!

Little things blow chunks and piss you off when you drastically cut out the drugs you rely on (at this point in my life alcohol & caffeine).  I remember this from before, a weird mix of increased mental clarity and wishing things weren’t so clear…

The worst thing about today however was the non-stop throbbing pain at the base of my skull–which I know from past expereince is primarily a result of caffeine withdrawals.

BTW, if you are dependent on alcohol and want to use raw foods as a tool to break that dependency, even if you just want a break from it, let me give you a huge tip:  The key is tons of green foods! I don’t have time to find the source where I read about all of this right now, maybe later, but it has to do with what your body is really after when you drink…booze mimic and trick your body into thinking they have something to offer.  But your body really needs the true alkalizing effects of GREEN FOODS.  Whenever I incorporate lots of fresh green foods (salads) and green powders (smoothies) I can’t believe how easy it is to stop drinking!

What I ate today:

  • Smoothie: Raw cacao powder, raw almond butter, raw coconut oil, green foods powder.
  • Watermelon Juice
  • Orange
  • RAW bar: A pre-packaged live food bar made from seeds and berries, crunchy & tasty.
  • An Asian “slaw” I made: 1 carrot, 1 gala apple, 2 handfuls of green cabbage, onion tossed in a dressing made of  raw almond butter, Shoyu, lemon juice & hemp oil, topped w/hemp seeds.  It was extremely filling & took a long time to chew.
  • Smoothie: green powder, coconut oil, cacao nibs (I will experiment with other smoothies soon)
  • Blood orange

Overall it was a very rough day.  I didn’t get much done, my head was super painful from waking til finally just saying screw it and laying in bed with lights off til I fell asleep…

Author: Gray

Son of a traveling salesman who infected me early with gypsy wanderlust and the urge to move somewhere new every couple years to try on new identities. All my fantasies are escapist and in them I am free to never have to call anyplace home.

Leave a Reply

