Fat Kid Suit

60 Days Raw Log: Day 1 means going cold turkey & no more booze!

Leave a comment


If you read the explanation of why I named this blog Fat Kid Suit you will have a little better idea of why I am once again trying out the live foods life…it took me a long time and a lot of excuses to get to today.  Now that I feel committed to making some changes I plan to document my experiences in a daily log.

Tuesday

Oct 27, 2009

Day 1

Chose today to start because I am off from work the next few days.  Since I am going “cold turkey” off of cooked foods, alcohol, and coffee; I figure I may get sick in that cleansing way and I’m sure I’ll be lethargic and even angry at times…

I will be weighing myself each week or so at the health food store where I will do most of my shopping. It’s a tiny little store with a small “raw” section, a “deli” where I can get salads and fresh squeezed juices, and a doctors scale in the bathroom.

Now that I’ve made up mind to do this, the biggest remaining obstacle to my second attempt at raw is going to be money.  I just moved to Palm Springs CA from San Francisco, I was unemployed for 6 months, and have been “under-employed” since (only working 3 shifts or so a week in bars that are devoid of customers).  So, I am BROKE BROKE BROKE.  From what I recall, eating raw isn’t cheap, and I’ve used that as one of my excuses for not addressing my alcohol intake and diet.

So…I’ve decided to flip it around in my favor. After adding up how much I spend on Starbucks, booze, and occasional restaurant meals, I figure I spend at least $70 per week.  I will now be spending most of that money at the Farmer’s Market!

“RAW” basically means:

Fruits

Veggies

Raw nuts and nut butters

Raw seeds

Cold-processed oils such as olive & hemp

Raw honey and Raw chocolate

That’s what you can eat. Am I missing anything?

What isn’t “raw”:

Booze

Coffee

Pizza

(Shit!  I live on the above!)

Cooked anything

Almost all sugary stuff

Bread

Dairy

Meat

Chips, cereals, etc.

Get the idea? 

*I’m not going to be worrying about what percentages of what macro nutrients I’m eating.  I won’t be wondering if I’m eating too much or to little.  This isn’t a quantitative approach to eating, it’s qualitative.  So, what matters, is what I eat.

Today’s Weight: 254 lbs.

What I ate today:

Fresh squeezed watermelon juice from the health food store deli! Sweet, delicious, and did you know watermelon is packed with as much chlorophyll as most green plants?

An organic peach

A big organic carrot

A small salad with tomato, olives, red onion, carrot, and a dressing I made from cold-pressed olive oil, a squeeze of lime, and a couple grinds of black pepper.

A smoothie I blended up: 1 tbs green foods powder called “Super Green & Super Fruits Blend”, 1 tbs organic coconut oil (creamy and delicious), 3 big dates, 1 tsp raw honey, water and ice.

A lot of water including some Peligrino Sparkling with lime squeezed in.

A large orange

A “Lara Bar”

How the day went:  The start of day one was rough.  Partly because of the lack of coffee and partly because of that feeling I get when I’m about to start something that I know won’t be easy and may even be downright unpleasant.  Denying yourself Nachos topped with chorizo and washed down with cadillac margaritas is never easy–and I know that’s the kinda thing I’m facing.

So I tried to think about how great I’ll feel & look…

Other than that no negatives, I feel fine, although I am hungry and craving a salty snack and beer...

Author: Gray

Son of a traveling salesman who infected me early with gypsy wanderlust and the urge to move somewhere new every couple years to try on new identities. All my fantasies are escapist and in them I am free to never have to call anyplace home.

Leave a Reply

